Kimberly Peil

The Dreaded Birthday Card

In Miscellaneous on August 31, 2010 at 7:03 pm

I LOVE Birthdays.  However, I HATE buying birthday cards.  I don’t really mind the countless hours spent searching the card aisles and reading about 100 of them that don’t apply to the situation.  What I do mind is finding a card that I like, and then having to consider the entire audience that will see this card at the party.   Will Grandma and Granddad laugh politely and then secretly judge me?  Will the parents think my card is just slightly inappropriate?  Is the card funny enough that I really don’t care what anyone else thinks, but the intended reader?  And why do people pass birthday cards around anyways?  I think they are a little personal.

Oh well.  I went for it anyways.  Cousin Jame’s 21st Birthday.  Here was my selection:

http://www.hallmark.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product|10001|10051|1021805|214068;222576;264068;301068|null|P1R4SO|ecards

  1. HILARIOUS! Seriously. And Kim, I’m right there with ya. I feel as if I don’t know everyone well enough and wonder if we’ll find the same things hilarious. I know my insecurity burns through with everyone. I love you lots; you’re an amazing mother, wife and a wonderful sister!

Leave a Reply

