Kimberly Peil

Saturday Market and a Bowl of Beef Stew

In Recipes on September 4, 2010 at 5:36 pm

I am loving this cool, overcast morning.  It is perfect weather for the Saturday Market, if you ask me.  So Ella and I just got back from our little trek with a bag full of veggies, longhorn beef, and fougasse bread.  And to welcome this beautiful fall weather, I think I will make a crock pot of Herby Beef Stew with my Saturday Market Findings!

HERBY BEEF STEW

1-2 lbs stewing beef, cubed
4 celery ribs, chopped
1 zucchini, chopped
5 mushrooms, sliced
5 red potatoes, cubed
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 large onion, chopped

2 – 14 oz can diced tomatoes w/ green chiles

1- 8 oz can tomato sauce
1 – 14 oz can beef broth
2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
2 tbsp dried parsley
1 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
1 tbsp brown sugar

Brown meat in canola oil, in a saucepan.  Place meat in the slow cooker.  Place vegetables in the slow cooker.  Combine remaining ingredients and pour over meat, mixing well.  Cover.  Cook on High 5-6 hours or Low 10-12 hours (I prefer the low setting, as the meat seems more tender).

Enjoy!

Leave a comment