Kimberly Peil

7 Months, Going on a Year

In Babies and Such on September 29, 2010 at 11:02 am

This week has been a crazy whirlwind of business stuff, and amongst it all Ella turned 7 months old.  How did we get to this point so quickly?  I swear it was just yesterday I was walking around the Riverfront Park, nearing 200 lbs, carrying a bowling ball in my belly and begging my already 2 week late little girl to come out.  Of course, I don’t think I was prepared for everything that would follow.  Total consumption.  This little girl turned my life upside down.

I don’t understand how most moms do it.  I mean look so happy those first few weeks… or months for that matter.  Oh I was happy, but in a completely exhausted, who just ran me over with a semi-truck sort of way.  I have never once wished that I didn’t have Ella, I just wished that someone had warned me how crazy life is with an all-consuming newborn.  I still look back on the first six months and wonder if Ella was just a very difficult newborn or if I was so set in my ways that it was hard to adjust.

Well, we’ve hit 7 months and somewhere along the way there has been a shift.  I feel like I can breathe again.  Ella is a happy, crawling little girl.  I am a happy mommy who has found ways to fit other things into my life, like starting up some home businesses and giving some of my time to others.

This morning I woke up to the sound of Ella singing in her crib (she really does sing, while waving one hand.  It is the cutest thing!).  Hunter brought her in to see me.  I reached out my hands to take her, and she placed both of her hands on my face and gave me a big, slobbery kiss!  Then she pulled back and gave me the sweetest smile.  It’s those little things that make the nine months of swollen misery and the next six months of insanity all worth it.

  1. I’m certainly thankful that she was born in 2010 and that both of you were safe and sound!

Leave a Reply

