Kimberly Peil

3 Month Check Up…

In Uncategorized on June 2, 2011 at 9:37 pm

The past three months have absolutely flown by, and I can’t believe I didn’t stop in to blog!  I have been busy starting a second business, moving to Beaverton, and taking care of Ells.  It’s been a little exciting and mostly overwhelming.  It’s always hard to get that first sell on your Etsy shop.  I get it… people want proof that you are legit.  And Beaverton is great, but I find myself feeling overwhelmingly lonely.  In Salem Ells and I had a routine of Library Storytime, Mom N’ Tots, and random play dates.  Now I mostly search for excuses to go to Target or Fred Meyer on a daily basis.

Ells (our new nickname for Ella) has been growing so quickly… she just hit the 15 month mark!  Being a first time mom, I am always amazed by every little thing that my baby girl does.  She has picked up signing quickly, and I really think it has helped her realize that she can communicate instead of just crying all the time.  She is also talking up a storm!  The most recent additions to her vocabulary are Edda (Ella), Ball, Apple, GiGi, All Gone, Balloon, Outside, Go, No, and Me.  It’s so funny, because I remember so many parents telling me that I will regret encouraging early crawling, walking and talking.  Not at all!  In fact, it is just the opposite.  I find so much joy in seeing Ella grow, explore and find ways to express herself.  I think it is all of these things that make her such a happy and inquisitive little girl!

I think one of the biggest adjustments for me has been weaning Ella from nursing.  It’s been a good relationship, but it was a little difficult that Ella would never take a bottle.  And then when she hit the One Year mark and we could finally give her milk, she ended up being allergic!  I wasn’t in a rush to wean her, but I needed a getaway with the Hubby!  When we finally quit nursing a few days ago part of me was relieved, but I was also feeling a little sad.  Ella is such a feisty and energetic little girl, that nursing was sometimes the only way I could get her to slow down and cuddle with me.  Thankfully the past few days have been filled with unsolicited hugs and kisses.  I think she knows I need her lovin’ now, more than ever. 🙂

Other excitement in the Land of Ells:  She is the cutest little mimicker!  She loves to pretend like she is putting on makeup, deodorant, or clipping her toenails.  Today I said, “Ella let’s go to the store.”  So she grabbed her little toy purse and her stuffed doggie and headed straight for the door!  Another thing I love about Ells is that she is not shy.  She makes a point of staring down every person in the grocery store and repeatedly saying “Hi” until they make eye contact with her.  Then she gives her goofy, over-the-top grin, while tilting her head.

We are also casually trying out potty training.  Don’t bother with the lecture… I know she is still very young.  But seriously, she almost always tells me that she has to go potty before she does it.  I just need to get the motivation to take her into the potty every time she tells me!

So that’s my quick summary of the past three months.  I promise I will try and check in a little more often.

It is unbelievable how much she looks like me when I was this age!


  1. I’m sorry that you are lonely while you settle in. I will be praying that you will form some friendships soon. I remember the daily Target trips after Mike and I got married. When I joined MOMS Club he said that my membership fee was the best money we ever spent. Because now I was so busy with playdates, that he was literally saving money 🙂 It will happen, because you are such a likeable gal!
    I love the “spare me the lecture” comment about potty training. I think all first-time parents like to try everything early. And it sounds like Ella totally grasps the concept. Maybe she will be one of those kids that is potty trained by 2-yrs old!?!?! You never know unless you try. And how awesome would that be?

Leave a Reply

