Kimberly Peil

Menu Monday

In Health, Recipes on August 15, 2011 at 12:12 pm

Every Monday, I spend at least an hour planning meals for the week.  So instead of sharing my usual, personal stories, I thought I would share with you what is on the menu this week!

We aren’t vegetarians…yet.  Although, we are honestly moving in that direction.  Hunter has been reading a compelling book titled, “The China Study.”  I plan on reading it too, but since I am limited on time at the moment, I just have him give me a daily run-down.  The only thing I am having a hard time buying into is that we shouldn’t eat fish.  So maybe I am leaning more towards becoming a pescetarian.

Either way, Hunter and I are super-passionate about healthy eating.  It has nothing to do with dieting or losing weight.  It has everything to do with being healthy and preventing cancer and other diseases.  And the other great thing about meatless dishes is that they are usually very inexpensive and economical.  Fish can be spendy sometimes, but I usually wait until it is on sale, stock up and then freeze it.  So with that said, here is this week’s menu.

Monday:  Buddha’s Delight with Tofu, Broccoli, and Water Chestnuts

Tuesday: Grilled Salmon, Asparagus, and Red Potato Salad.

Wednesday: Cannellini Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms, Brussel Sprouts and Brown Rice.

Thursday: Fish Tacos with Lime-Cilantro Crema and Black Beans

Friday: Two Bean Soup with Kale, and Crusty Whole Wheat Bread with Tomatoes and Parmesan.

Yum!  Hope some of these inspire you to eat healthy this week!

  1. You should do this every Monday. It’ll be my menu the following week. : )

    You’re so organized. I’m a mess at the grocery store and usually have to go back at least two more times because I forgot something.

  2. Sounds so yummy, I am going to thieve. I’m not gonna lie, it’s been absolutely wonderful getting in the kitchen again, I’ve missed it. Sometimes when we’re moving I get excited because I don’t have to cook and I get completely gluttonous when it comes to eating in restaurants but anyway, glad to be semi-settled. I have a few recipes that are favorites of ours: Moroccan Coconut & Chick Pea Soup (it has Granny Smith apples in it too!), Grilled Salmon & Zucchini with Red Pepper Sauce, Tofu with Thai Curry Sauce and a pretty lean Turkey Meatloaf (it’s pretty close to a regular beef meatloaf and makes a TON, I usually freeze half of it). Email me if you’d like the recipes. All yummy, my mouth is watering, you inspire me to plan our week too!

    • I meant to respond to this forever ago! I would love some of your recipes… especially the Moroccan Coconut & Chick Pea Soup and the Grilled Salmon Recipe. They sound great!

Leave a Reply

