Kimberly Peil

Menu Monday

In Recipes on September 12, 2011 at 12:22 pm

Today I have a mish-mosh of recipes that I plan on making.  My awesome Mom-in-Law gave me a ridiculous number of tomatoes and pears from the garden.  Now I have to figure out what to do with them!  I’m thinking lots of salsa, caprese salads, and pear crisps!  Other than that, nothing too spectacular on the menu this week… well, except for this Chicken Kebab recipe.  Seriously, a must try.  The dipping sauce is to die for!

Marinated Chicken Kebabs with Lemon Pepper Yogurt Sauce

I took the advice of several reviewers and reduced the salt in the sauce to about 1 1/2 tsp, and then added cherry tomatoes and onions to my kebabs.

Here’s another recipe I think I am going to try for lunch this week.

Creamy, Light Macaroni and Cheese

Considering the amount of macaroni & cheese Ella consumes on a weekly basis, I figured I better find a way to make it healthy.  I love that this recipe uses 3 cups of Butternut Squash!  I think I will add broccoli to hers though, because it is nearly impossible to get her to eat her veggies.  And plus, I have never given her mac&cheese without it, so she doesn’t know any better.  Hee, hee.

Some Salsa?

I figured this would be a good use of those tomatoes.  Plus I can heap it onto some yummy breakfast burritos.

And last but not least, a Pear Crisp.

Pear Crisp from the Pioneer Woman.  Yum!

The rest of the meals this week will probably be pretty ugly.  I need to use up stuff in the freezer, and that usually means Turkey Chili, Spaghetti, and Salmon Burgers.  Nothing Fancy.

Now I am off to a midwife appointment.  Dreading the scale, but I am excited to schedule our 20-week ultrasound.  I need to know if it is a girl or boy so I can start the planning!  I hope you all have a great week.

  1. I’m making the kebabs tonight. I made the dipping sauce and prepped the chicken last night. I’m excited. The sauce is delicious. I kept eating it. I think I’ll make that for other stuff too. I’m adding tomatoes and onion too. : )

Leave a comment