Kimberly Peil

Menu Monday

In Recipes on September 19, 2011 at 12:49 pm

I am pretty excited about my menu this week.  We went to my friend Brenna’s house this weekend, and she introduced me to an amazing vegetarian cookbook along with the author’s website.  So I spent several hours last night on this website, researching vegetarian recipes for the week.  What I love about these recipes is that they are exactly what vegetarian should be (in my opinion).  They are full of healthy whole grains, beans, and lots of green veggies.  I get so frustrated with many of the recipe websites, because their versions of vegetarian are lots of pasta and cheese.  If that’s all we ate, we would not be very healthy or have a balanced diet!  So without further ado, here is this week’s menu!

Monday:  Ribollita with some whole grain crusty bread

I love Kale!  So does Hunter.  And thankfully Ella will eat just about anything in soup form, so this should be a winner.  Plus, the sudden change in weather is begging me to make soup.

Tuesday and Wednesday: Spice Rubbed Braised Beef,Quinoa Salad with Black Beans and Tomatoes, and Roasted Potatoes with Magic Sauce

I’ve made this Braised Beef before, but I am going to try it in the crockpot this time.  And the magic sauce on the potatoes is amazing!  Brenna made it when we were over this weekend, and it really was magic.

Thursday: Double Broccoli Quinoa with Tofu

I cannot wait to try this recipe!

Friday: Homemade Pizza with Brenna’s Marinara Sauce

Sorry, No pic or recipe for this one.  Brenna was gracious enough to send me home with some of her marinara sauce, and I plan to put it to good use!

And just in case you were curious about what we eat for other meals during during the week, you really shouldn’t be.  It really isn’t that interesting.  Breakfast is almost always Old Fashioned oatmeal with berries and soymilk, eggs, and sauteed spinach.  Lunch is usually leftovers or PB&J.  But I think I will try and mix up our morning routine and try this yummy recipe out!

Warm and Nutty Cinnamon Quinoa

Have a good week, and hopefully you find something healthy to eat!

pictures from http://www.101cookbooks.com

Leave a Reply

