Kimberly Peil

Nap Time

In Uncategorized on November 4, 2011 at 1:36 pm

I LOVE nap time. I should clarify. I love Ella’s nap time. It used to be that I functioned best on 8 hours of sleep at night and a good 2 hour nap in the afternoon. Seriously, I love sleep that much. But having a child has changed that.

And don’t get me wrong. I love when Ella is awake too, but there is something magical about 2 hours to myself in the middle of the day. Rarely do I waste this time sleeping anymore. Sometimes I reserve my sacred shower for this time slot. Otherwise, I am usually sharing my shower with my cute, chubby-knee toddler, which is usually fine. But sometimes I don’t want to take a lukewarm shower. And sometimes I don’t want to worry about washing someone else’s hair.

Other times I will save my lunch until Ella has gone to sleep, because I despise sharing food. I always have. But somehow it is a lot harder to say no to a toddler than it is to your husband. If it is on my plate, I want to eat. it. all.

And even on days that I have to work during nap time, I still find it relaxing. As much as I love my little monkey, sometimes I just need a little break. It is definitely going to be interesting having two children.

This is not me complaining. I couldn’t be happier that I am a Stay at Home Mom. And I couldn’t be more grateful for my little girl. I am just enjoying Ella’s nap time, doing a little thinking, a little sewing, and eating.

Leave a Reply

