Kimberly Peil

Thanksgiving

In Recipes, Uncategorized on November 21, 2011 at 1:59 pm

As I was compiling my Thanksgiving grocery shopping list, I was reminded of the first week that Hunter and I were dating.  His birthday happened to be about a week after our first date (this was in February).  And I remember him asking his mom to make a full Thanksgiving meal for his birthday.  I thought, whoa, this boy likes to eat!  And then I thought, crap, I can’t cook.  Our relationship isn’t going to last another week.

Well thankfully, nine years later, I have learned how to cook.  So much so that Hunter prefers my cooking over everyone else’s.  So even though we are going to my Dad’s house for Thanksgiving, I will be making a full Thanksgiving meal at home on Saturday.  That way my hubby can enjoy all of his favorites and have lots of leftovers.

I am sure you all have your favorites, but if you are looking to try some new recipes, here are my favorites!

Alton Brown’s “Not Your Mama’s Green Bean Casserole.”  The thought of canned mushroom soup in my green beans makes me nauseous.  This is a much yummier option!

Paula Deen’s Garlic Mashed Potatoes, because does Paula ever get anything wrong?  These are amazing.

I always hated sweet potatoes until my mother-in-law introduced me to this recipe.  My family’s version was some nastiness out of a can with marshmallows on top.  The only difference is that I only use 1/2 cup of sugar in them.

This is the best pumpkin pie recipe.  Super simple.  I can’t stand store-bought pumpkin pie.  It just tastes like pure sugar.

Thanksgiving is the only time we really eat corn.  Because, well, it really has no nutritional value.  But it makes a ridiculously good and cheesy bake!

And of course you have to top all that goodness off with a fresh cranberry sauce and homemade gravy.  I am so hungry.  Why can’t it be Thursday already?

I am going to attempt to cook a turkey this year.  For some reason that is the one thing that I fail horribly at.  I tried one year and actually caught the oven on fire.  This time I am using one of those oven bags.  Hopefully that will solve the problem.

Have a great Thanksgiving everyone!

Leave a Reply

