Kimberly Peil

Part-time Vegetarian

In Recipes, Uncategorized on January 9, 2012 at 9:34 pm

I make a lot of vegetarian food.  And not because I think meat is bad, or because I feel sorry for the poor animals (maybe I should), but because I honestly think our bodies were designed to consume mostly plant products.

If I were to imagine myself being self-sufficient (i.e.- no large-scale manufacturing plants to provide my food and 1lb. of meat per night), I think I would eat mostly fruits, veggies and grains.  I could definitely milk a cow and collect eggs from a chicken too, so those proteins stay.  But I am pretty sure that I would not raise and slaughter enough animals to provide myself with the amount of meat that the average American eats on a daily basis.

In my quest to eat less meat and more veggies, I have discovered some amazing chefs/bloggers/authors who have helped me discover that eating vegetarian can be both delicious and filling.

Image

My friend Brenna first introduced me to this book about six months ago, along with Heidi Swanson’s blog/website 101cookbooks.com.  I have yet to make something out of this book that is a failure.  Hunter is in love with every recipe and keeps asking if we can add many of them to our weekly menu rotation.  So far her Black Pepper Tempeh, Cabbage Soup, Wild Rice Casserole and Magic Sauce are my favorites.

Image

Next on my list of new favorites is this Oregonian and her vegan cookbook.  I borrowed it from the library, because I wasn’t sure I was going to be down with her vegan style.  But her recipes are simple and tasty.  And the best part is that Ella has liked everything I have made so far!  The black bean burgers are my absolute favorite, and next week I am going to be giving her Spanish Quinoa a shot.

Even if you aren’t vegetarian or vegan, I highly recommend checking these books out.  The recipes are ridiculously simple for weeknight suppers, and they are loaded with good-for-you stuff.  One thing that I hate about a lot of vegetarian recipes on various websites (i.e.- Cooking Light, Food Network) is that they don’t think out of the box.  They are always pasta and cheese dishes.  What about the stuff that’s good for you– the beans, the veggies, the whole grains.  Isn’t this why people should be eating vegetarian anyways?

Seriously, try it.

Leave a Reply

